Official-source review · verified 2026-09-17

Postman alternatives: the answer depends on what must survive the move.

Eight options made the cut. Each one can replace a real part of Postman, but none should be treated as a lossless copy.

Where to look first

Insomnia or Bruno for broad client migration; Hoppscotch for a self-hosted web platform; Yaak or HTTPie for local-first requests; Thunder Client inside an editor; Hurl or SoapUI for focused test automation.

Official source: Insomnia documentation Testing documentation Official pricing and feature matrix Bruno CLI Community prerequisites Install and build Official documentation Git sync documentation Desktop documentation CLI product page Getting started Collection runner Official manual Official FAQ REST testing documentation REST mocking Verified:

Honest boundary: Self-hosting means you operate the infrastructure yourself. Importing a Postman collection does not mean every script or configuration migrates automatically. Migration time depends on the project. Every product fact below reflects the official sources checked on the displayed verification date.

The shortlist

Choose by workflow, not by logo.

Every source link goes to the product's own site, documentation, license, changelog, or official GitHub repository.

01

Insomnia

A broad desktop client with strong Postman collection, environment, and script migration support.

Fit and scope

  • What it is An open-source desktop application for designing, debugging, and testing APIs. Official source: Insomnia documentation Verified:
  • What it replaces It covers interactive REST, GraphQL, gRPC, WebSocket, SOAP, and event-stream requests, plus collections, tests, API design, and CLI automation. Official source: Insomnia documentation Testing documentation Verified:
  • What it does not replace directly Postman mock servers are not imported; the official migration guide says they must be recreated in Insomnia. Official source: Postman migration guide Verified:

Pricing and license

  • Free option The Essentials plan is listed at $0 per user per month, and a local-only Scratch Pad is described as free forever. Official source: Official pricing Verified:
  • Paid pricing The pricing page lists Pro at $12 per user per month and Enterprise at $45 per user per month; the page also labels annual billing as saving 17%. Official source: Official pricing Verified:
  • Open source and license The official repository is licensed under Apache License 2.0. Official source: Official LICENSE Verified:

Self-hosting and deployment

  • Self-hosting The desktop client can use local projects, while Insomnia separately documents self-hosted mock servers through Mockbin; a self-hosted replacement for the whole Insomnia cloud service is not documented in the sources checked. Official source: Insomnia versus Postman Mock server documentation Verified:
  • Deployment The desktop application is available for macOS, Windows, and Ubuntu; Inso CLI runs collections and tests in CI. Official source: Insomnia documentation Import and export reference Verified:
  • Machine requirements Not specified in the official installation documentation checked. Official source: Insomnia documentation Verified:
  • Self-hosted monthly cost Varies by infrastructure for self-hosted mock servers; no official fixed infrastructure cost is stated. Official source: Mock server documentation Verified:

Postman migration

  • Postman Collection import The importer accepts Postman Collection v2.0 and v2.1 through file, URL, or clipboard. Official source: Import and export reference Verified:
  • Environments, variables, and auth Collections and environments can be imported; global environments may need to be selected as the base environment after import. Official source: Postman migration guide Verified:
  • Scripts and rewriting Most Postman scripts can be converted, but global environment access, deprecated Postman interfaces, and some bulk-import script patterns have documented limitations and require review or rewriting. Official source: Script migration reference Bulk migration guide Verified:
  • Other Postman assets Mock servers require manual recreation; multi-workspace bulk import is an Enterprise workflow that must be enabled for the organization. Official source: Postman migration guide Bulk migration guide Verified:
  • Migration time Not estimated; the official sources checked do not provide a general migration duration. Official source: Postman migration guide Verified:

Project health

  • Repository activity The official repository was not archived, and its latest visible default-branch commit was dated 2026-09-16 when checked. Official source: Official repository Latest commit checked Verified:
  • Current release The latest stable GitHub release checked was core 13.2.0, published 2026-08-25. Official source: Official release Verified:
02

Hoppscotch

A browser, desktop, and CLI API platform with a documented free Community Edition for self-hosting.

Fit and scope

  • What it is An API development and testing platform available as a cloud web app, desktop app, CLI, and self-hosted edition. Official source: Quick start Verified:
  • What it replaces It covers interactive API requests, collections, environments, runners, scripts, and team workspaces. Official source: Official documentation Verified:
  • What it does not replace directly The Postman importer does not import advanced authorization setups or collection-level settings. Official source: Official importer reference Verified:

Pricing and license

  • Free option The Cloud Free plan is $0 and lists unlimited workspaces, collections, requests, and runners; Community Edition is also free. Official source: Official pricing Quick start Verified:
  • Paid pricing The Cloud Organization plan is listed at $6 per user per month when billed annually. Official source: Official pricing Verified:
  • Open source and license Hoppscotch Community Edition is open source under the MIT License. Official source: Quick start Official LICENSE Verified:

Self-hosting and deployment

  • Self-hosting Community Edition can be hosted on infrastructure that runs Docker; the documentation also links a Helm-based Kubernetes deployment path. Official source: Community prerequisites Install and build Verified:
  • Deployment The documented Docker choices are separate frontend, backend, and admin containers or a single all-in-one container, backed by Postgres. Official source: Install and build Community prerequisites Verified:
  • Machine requirements The official minimums are 4 CPU cores and 4 GB RAM to generate the build image, and as little as 1 CPU core and 2 GB RAM to host generated output files. Official source: Community prerequisites Verified:
  • Self-hosted monthly cost Varies by infrastructure; the official documentation provides requirements but no fixed hosting bill. Official source: Community prerequisites Verified:

Postman migration

  • Postman Collection import Hoppscotch imports Postman collections and environments from JSON; cloud imports are limited to 10 MB and self-hosted imports to 50 MB. Official source: Official importer reference Verified:
  • Environments, variables, and auth The importer brings request parameters, path variables, bodies, headers, basic authorization, and regular and secret environment variables. Official source: Official importer reference Verified:
  • Scripts and rewriting Pre-request and test-script import for Postman v2.0 and v2.1 is experimental, requires consent during import, and uses a pm-namespace compatibility layer. Official source: Official importer reference Verified:
  • Other Postman assets Advanced authorization setups and collection-level settings are not imported and need manual review or recreation. Official source: Official importer reference Verified:
  • Migration time Not estimated; the official importer documentation checked does not state a general migration duration. Official source: Official importer reference Verified:

Project health

  • Repository activity The official repository was not archived, and its latest visible default-branch commit was dated 2026-09-14 when checked. Official source: Official repository Latest commit checked Verified:
  • Current release The latest stable GitHub release checked was 2026.8.1, published 2026-09-14. Official source: Official release Verified:
03

Bruno

Offline-first, Git-tracked collections with direct Postman collection, environment, and common-script conversion.

Fit and scope

  • What it is A Git-friendly, offline-first API client that stores collections as plain-text files. Official source: Getting started Verified:
  • What it replaces It covers HTTP, REST, GraphQL, and gRPC requests, testing, scripting, a collection runner, and CLI automation. Official source: Official pricing and feature matrix Bruno CLI Verified:
  • What it does not replace directly Its documented collaboration model is local files and Git, not a managed Postman-style cloud workspace by default. Official source: Getting started Workspace documentation Verified:

Pricing and license

  • Free option The Open Source plan is listed at $0; the free and open-source versions allow two workspaces to be open at a time. Official source: Official pricing Workspace documentation Verified:
  • Paid pricing Pro is listed at $6 per user per month billed annually, and Ultimate at $11 per user per month billed annually. Official source: Official pricing Verified:
  • Open source and license The official source repository is licensed under the MIT License. Official source: Official LICENSE Verified:

Self-hosting and deployment

  • Self-hosting Bruno runs locally and stores workspaces on the filesystem; the official sources checked do not document a server component that replaces a hosted collaboration service. Official source: Getting started Workspace documentation Verified:
  • Deployment The desktop app has direct downloads and package-manager installation; Bruno CLI is installed with npm, pnpm, or yarn and requires Node.js. Official source: Desktop installation CLI installation Verified:
  • Machine requirements No CPU or RAM minimum is specified in the official installation pages checked; the CLI documentation recommends Node 18 or higher. Official source: Desktop installation CLI installation Verified:
  • Self-hosted monthly cost Not estimated; Bruno is a local application rather than a documented hosted server in the sources checked. Official source: Getting started Verified:

Postman migration

  • Postman Collection import Bruno imports Postman Collection v2 and v2.1 files; bulk Postman data-dump import is listed as an Ultimate feature. Official source: Postman migration guide Verified:
  • Environments, variables, and auth Postman environment JSON can be imported with all variables, but non-string values are converted to strings and unsupported name characters are converted. Official source: Postman migration guide Verified:
  • Scripts and rewriting The importer automatically translates common pm APIs, including tests, environment, global, collection-variable, and response APIs; unsupported script behavior still needs review and rewriting. Official source: Postman migration guide Verified:
  • Other Postman assets The official migration page documents collections, environments, data dumps, and common scripts; it does not document importing Postman mock servers or monitors. Official source: Postman migration guide Verified:
  • Migration time Not estimated; the official migration documentation checked does not provide a general duration. Official source: Postman migration guide Verified:

Project health

  • Repository activity The official repository was not archived, and its latest visible default-branch commit was dated 2026-09-16 when checked. Official source: Official repository Latest commit checked Verified:
  • Current release The latest stable GitHub release checked was v4.1.0, published 2026-08-20. Official source: Official release Verified:
04

Yaak

A local-first desktop client with broad request and authentication import, but no Postman script runner.

Fit and scope

  • What it is A local-first desktop API client whose workspace data stays on the device unless the user exports or shares it. Official source: Security and privacy Verified:
  • What it replaces It handles HTTP, GraphQL, gRPC, WebSocket, and server-sent-event requests, environments, authentication, and Git-based workspace sharing. Official source: Official documentation Git sync documentation Verified:
  • What it does not replace directly Yaak has no script runner, and its Postman migration guide says monitors, mock servers, flows, documentation sites, and request history do not import. Official source: Postman migration guide Verified:

Pricing and license

  • Free option Yaak is free for personal use, and the commercial-use trial lasts 30 days without a credit card or signup. Official source: Official pricing Verified:
  • Paid pricing Prebuilt binaries are listed at $79 per year or $399 once for an Individual license, and $149 per user per year for Business. Official source: Official pricing Verified:
  • Open source and license The source is MIT licensed and can be built and run for personal or commercial use; commercial licensing applies to prebuilt binaries. Official source: Official pricing Official LICENSE Verified:

Self-hosting and deployment

  • Self-hosting Yaak runs locally and can sync workspace files through the user's Git repository; the official sources checked do not document a collaborative server to self-host. Official source: Git sync documentation Security and privacy Verified:
  • Deployment The application is installed on the user's desktop, while local directory sync writes workspace resources as YAML files for Git workflows. Official source: Installation Git sync documentation Verified:
  • Machine requirements Not specified in the official installation documentation checked. Official source: Installation Verified:
  • Self-hosted monthly cost Not estimated; the official product model is a local desktop application rather than a hosted server in the sources checked. Official source: Security and privacy Verified:

Postman migration

  • Postman Collection import Yaak imports Postman Collection v2.0 and v2.1 exports into a new workspace or into an existing workspace or folder. Official source: Postman migration guide Verified:
  • Environments, variables, and auth Folders, collection variables, exported environments, request data, and documented Basic, Bearer, API Key, AWS, JWT, Digest, NTLM, and OAuth configurations import; OAuth 2.0 tokens do not. Official source: Postman migration guide Verified:
  • Scripts and rewriting Pre-request and test scripts do not import because Yaak has no script runner; documented replacements use template functions, and unsupported faker-style variables need replacement. Official source: Postman migration guide Verified:
  • Other Postman assets Monitors, mock servers, flows, documentation sites, and request history do not import. Official source: Postman migration guide Verified:
  • Migration time The official guide says a single collection takes a minute and a team move takes an afternoon; this is the vendor's stated guidance, not a Workrigly test. Official source: Postman migration guide Verified:

Project health

  • Repository activity The official repository was not archived, and its latest visible default-branch commit was dated 2026-09-16 when checked. Official source: Official repository Latest commit checked Verified:
  • Current release The latest stable GitHub release checked was v2026.7.1, published 2026-09-01. Official source: Official release Verified:
05

HTTPie

Human-friendly desktop or terminal requests when Postman scripts and platform assets are not required.

Fit and scope

  • What it is HTTPie offers a cross-platform Desktop/Web API client and an open-source command-line HTTP client. Official source: Desktop product page CLI product page Verified:
  • What it replaces Desktop covers REST, GraphQL, and HTTP request work; CLI covers terminal-based API testing and debugging. Official source: Desktop documentation CLI product page Verified:
  • What it does not replace directly The importer does not bring gRPC, WebSockets, scripts, tests, dynamic tags, body files, cookies, schemas, documentation, field descriptions, or custom settings. Official source: Desktop import reference Verified:

Pricing and license

  • Free option HTTPie Desktop is labeled public beta and can be used offline without an account; HTTPie for Terminal is open source. Official source: Desktop product page Official product page Verified:
  • Paid pricing Not confirmed; no current paid-plan price was published on the official product and documentation pages checked. Official source: Official product page Official documentation index Verified:
  • Open source and license HTTPie CLI is BSD-3-Clause licensed; the Desktop application's source license was not confirmed in the official sources checked. Official source: CLI official repository CLI official LICENSE Verified:

Self-hosting and deployment

  • Self-hosting Desktop persists data locally and can work offline; optional sync uses HTTPie's cloud, and no self-hosted sync server is documented in the official sources checked. Official source: Desktop data storage Verified:
  • Deployment Desktop installers are available for macOS, Windows, and Linux; CLI can be installed with OS package managers, pip, or a standalone binary. Official source: Desktop download CLI installation Verified:
  • Machine requirements No CPU or RAM minimum is stated; the universal pip installation documented for CLI requires Python 3.7 or newer. Official source: CLI installation Verified:
  • Self-hosted monthly cost Not estimated; local desktop and CLI use do not require a hosted HTTPie server, while a self-hosted sync service is not documented. Official source: Desktop data storage Verified:

Postman migration

  • Postman Collection import Desktop imports Postman collections, environments, and data-dump ZIP files. Official source: Desktop import reference Verified:
  • Environments, variables, and auth The importer brings environments, default and collection variables, and Basic, Bearer, API Key, and inherited authentication. Official source: Desktop import reference Verified:
  • Scripts and rewriting Pre-request scripts, tests, and dynamic tags are not imported and must be replaced outside the importer. Official source: Desktop import reference Verified:
  • Other Postman assets Sub-folder hierarchy becomes breadcrumbs in request names; gRPC, WebSockets, body files, cookies, metadata, and custom settings do not import. Official source: Desktop import reference Verified:
  • Migration time Not estimated; the official import documentation checked provides steps and compatibility but no duration. Official source: Desktop import reference Verified:

Project health

  • Repository activity The official CLI repository was not archived, and its latest visible default-branch commit was dated 2024-12-17 when checked; this does not establish Desktop activity. Official source: CLI official repository Latest CLI commit checked Verified:
  • Current release The latest stable CLI GitHub release checked was 3.2.4, published 2024-11-01; the current Desktop version was not confirmed. Official source: CLI official release Verified:
06

Thunder Client

Developers who want request collections and tests inside VS Code or JetBrains IDEs.

Fit and scope

  • What it is A lightweight REST API client delivered as an editor extension for VS Code, with JetBrains support listed on paid plans. Official source: Official pricing Getting started Verified:
  • What it replaces It provides requests, collections, environments, scripting, a collection runner, and paid CLI/CI integration inside the editor workflow. Official source: Getting started Collection runner Verified:
  • What it does not replace directly The official Postman import documentation covers collections and environments, not Postman workspaces, mock servers, or monitors. Official source: Import and export Verified:

Pricing and license

  • Free option The Free plan is listed at $0 per user per month and includes the VS Code extension, subject to the linked free-version limits. Official source: Official pricing Verified:
  • Paid pricing Starter is listed at $3, Business at $7, and Enterprise at $16 per user per month, each billed annually. Official source: Official pricing Verified:
  • Open source and license Not confirmed; the official public GitHub repository checked is a support repository and does not identify an open-source product license. Official source: Official support repository Verified:

Self-hosting and deployment

  • Self-hosting Collection data is stored locally on the user's machine; the official sources checked do not document a server product to self-host. Official source: Official pricing FAQ Verified:
  • Deployment The client runs in VS Code, while paid plans list JetBrains, CLI, and CI/CD capabilities. Official source: Official pricing Getting started Verified:
  • Machine requirements Not specified in the official documentation checked beyond the supported editor environments. Official source: Getting started Verified:
  • Self-hosted monthly cost Not estimated; a self-hosted server product is not documented in the official sources checked. Official source: Official pricing FAQ Verified:

Postman migration

  • Postman Collection import Paid versions import Postman 2.1.0 collections and environments; the documentation labels import as paid-only. Official source: Import and export Verified:
  • Environments, variables, and auth Postman environment files can be imported, and the environment system supports variables in query parameters, headers, bodies, and tests. Official source: Environment documentation Verified:
  • Scripts and rewriting Postman scripts require conversion to Thunder Client's tc APIs; the official guide publishes mappings and also shows Postman methods without direct equivalents. Official source: Postman script conversion Verified:
  • Other Postman assets Workspaces, mock servers, and monitors are not listed as supported import targets in the official import page. Official source: Import and export Verified:
  • Migration time Not estimated; the official import and script-conversion pages checked do not state a general duration. Official source: Import and export Postman script conversion Verified:

Project health

  • Repository activity The official support repository was not archived, and its latest visible default-branch commit was dated 2026-06-04 when checked; this is not a source-code activity claim. Official source: Official support repository Latest support-repo commit checked Verified:
  • Current release The latest release in the official support repository checked was v2.41.3, published 2026-09-13. Official source: Official release Verified:
07

Hurl

Plain-text HTTP integration tests in local development and CI, not a GUI workspace replacement.

Fit and scope

  • What it is A command-line tool that runs HTTP requests defined in a plain-text Hurl format. Official source: Official manual Verified:
  • What it replaces It can replace Postman collection-runner work for HTTP sessions and REST, SOAP, GraphQL, XML, or JSON API tests in local development and CI. Official source: Official manual Official FAQ Verified:
  • What it does not replace directly It is a CLI, not a Postman-style GUI workspace or managed collaboration platform. Official source: Official FAQ Verified:

Pricing and license

  • Free option Hurl is available as open-source software without a paid tier documented on the official site. Official source: Official product page Official license Verified:
  • Paid pricing No paid plan is documented on the official product, installation, or license pages checked. Official source: Official product page Official installation Verified:
  • Open source and license Hurl is licensed under Apache License 2.0. Official source: Official license Verified:

Self-hosting and deployment

  • Self-hosting Hurl is run as a local or CI binary, or in its official container; it is not a hosted application server. Official source: Official product page Official installation Verified:
  • Deployment Official installation paths include release binaries, OS package managers, Cargo, conda-forge, npm, and an official container image. Official source: Official installation Verified:
  • Machine requirements No CPU or RAM sizing is specified; official precompiled Linux binaries require libc 2.35 or newer, and source builds list native library dependencies. Official source: Official installation Verified:
  • Self-hosted monthly cost Not estimated; local binary use has no documented hosting requirement, while container or CI cost varies by infrastructure. Official source: Official installation Verified:

Postman migration

  • Postman Collection import Not documented; the official manual and installation documentation checked do not provide a Postman Collection importer. Official source: Official manual Official installation Verified:
  • Environments, variables, and auth Variables are supplied through CLI options, variable files, environment variables, or per-request option sections rather than by importing Postman environments. Official source: Template and variable documentation Verified:
  • Scripts and rewriting Postman scripts and assertions must be rewritten as Hurl requests, captures, queries, and assertions in the Hurl file format. Official source: Official manual Entry format Verified:
  • Other Postman assets Postman workspaces, mock servers, monitors, and GUI collaboration are outside the documented CLI scope. Official source: Official FAQ Verified:
  • Migration time Not estimated; no official Postman migration duration or Workrigly migration test is available. Official source: Official manual Verified:

Project health

  • Repository activity The official repository was not archived, and its latest visible default-branch commit was dated 2026-09-16 when checked. Official source: Official repository Latest commit checked Verified:
  • Current release The latest stable GitHub release checked was 8.0.1, published 2026-04-29. Official source: Official release Verified:
08

SoapUI

Free REST and SOAP functional testing, especially when an older Postman v1 collection can be exported.

Fit and scope

  • What it is A free, open-source, cross-platform functional testing application for APIs and web services. Official source: Official repository Verified:
  • What it replaces It covers REST and SOAP functional tests, assertions, basic load tests, and local mock services. Official source: REST testing documentation REST mocking Verified:
  • What it does not replace directly Its Postman importer supports Collection v1 only and explicitly does not support v2 collections. Official source: Postman collection documentation Verified:

Pricing and license

  • Free option SoapUI Open Source is free; additional commercial functionality is offered through ReadyAPI. Official source: Official repository Installation guide Verified:
  • Paid pricing ReadyAPI pricing is contact-based on the official pricing page; no public numeric price was confirmed. Official source: ReadyAPI pricing Verified:
  • Open source and license SoapUI is licensed under European Union Public Licence version 1.1. Official source: Official LICENSE Verified:

Self-hosting and deployment

  • Self-hosting SoapUI runs locally or from a source build; REST mock services can run in the desktop app or through the mockservicerunner command-line application. Official source: Official repository REST mocking Verified:
  • Deployment Installers are documented for Windows, macOS, and Linux/Unix; source builds use Maven 3 and can run with Maven's exec goal. Official source: Installation guide Official repository Verified:
  • Machine requirements No CPU or RAM minimum is specified in the official installation documentation checked. Official source: Installation guide Verified:
  • Self-hosted monthly cost Not estimated; the local application and mock runner have no official fixed infrastructure cost. Official source: REST mocking Verified:

Postman migration

  • Postman Collection import The importer accepts Postman Collection v1 and creates a SoapUI project from the APIs in the collection; v2 is unsupported. Official source: Postman collection documentation Verified:
  • Environments, variables, and auth Documented conversion maps Postman global variables to project properties and Basic authorization to an authorization request header. Official source: Postman collection documentation Verified:
  • Scripts and rewriting A documented subset of Postman tests becomes SoapUI assertions; behavior outside those conversion rules requires manual review and rebuilding. Official source: Postman collection documentation Verified:
  • Other Postman assets The official importer documents APIs, requests, global variables, basic auth, and a subset of tests; current Postman workspaces, monitors, and v2 collections are not supported by that importer. Official source: Postman collection documentation Verified:
  • Migration time Not estimated; the official importer documentation checked does not state a general duration. Official source: Postman collection documentation Verified:

Project health

  • Repository activity The official repository was not archived, and its latest visible default-branch commit was dated 2026-06-08 when checked. Official source: Official repository Latest commit checked Verified:
  • Current release The latest stable GitHub release checked was v5.10.0, published 2026-06-02. Official source: Official release Verified:

Total comparison

The trade-offs in one table.

Swipe or scroll horizontally on a narrow screen. Each cell keeps its official source and verification date.

Name Free option Open source License Self-hosting Postman Collection import Manual rewrite required Latest verified project activity Best-fit use case
Insomnia Official source: Insomnia documentation Verified: Yes — Essentials is $0; local Scratch Pad is free forever. Official source: Official pricing Verified: Yes Official source: Official LICENSE Verified: Apache-2.0 Official source: Official LICENSE Verified: Partial — local client and self-hosted mocks, not a documented full cloud replacement. Official source: Insomnia versus Postman Mock server documentation Verified: Yes — Collection v2.0/v2.1 and environments. Official source: Import and export reference Verified: Review unsupported script patterns; recreate mock servers. Official source: Script migration reference Bulk migration guide Verified: core 13.2.0 released 2026-08-25; default-branch commit checked 2026-09-16. Official source: Official release Verified: Broad desktop API work and relatively strong script migration. Official source: Insomnia documentation Testing documentation Verified:
Hoppscotch Official source: Quick start Verified: Yes — Cloud Free is $0; Community Edition is free. Official source: Official pricing Quick start Verified: Yes Official source: Quick start Official LICENSE Verified: MIT Official source: Quick start Official LICENSE Verified: Yes — Community Edition via Docker; Helm path documented. Official source: Community prerequisites Install and build Verified: Yes — collections and environments. Official source: Official importer reference Verified: Advanced auth and collection settings; experimental scripts need review. Official source: Official importer reference Verified: 2026.8.1 released 2026-09-14; default-branch commit checked 2026-09-14. Official source: Official release Verified: Teams that need an explicitly self-hostable web API platform. Official source: Official documentation Verified:
Bruno Official source: Getting started Verified: Yes — Open Source plan is $0, with a two-workspace limit. Official source: Official pricing Workspace documentation Verified: Yes Official source: Official LICENSE Verified: MIT Official source: Official LICENSE Verified: Not a hosted service — local app, files, Git, and CLI. Official source: Getting started Workspace documentation Verified: Yes — Collection v2/v2.1; environments supported. Official source: Postman migration guide Verified: Review unsupported script behavior; mocks and monitors are not documented import targets. Official source: Postman migration guide Verified: v4.1.0 released 2026-08-20; default-branch commit checked 2026-09-16. Official source: Official release Verified: Offline-first, Git-tracked collections and CLI automation. Official source: Official pricing and feature matrix Bruno CLI Verified:
Yaak Official source: Security and privacy Verified: Yes for personal use; prebuilt binaries require a license at work. Official source: Official pricing Verified: Yes Official source: Official pricing Official LICENSE Verified: MIT Official source: Official pricing Official LICENSE Verified: Not a hosted service — local desktop app with Git directory sync. Official source: Git sync documentation Security and privacy Verified: Yes — Collection v2.0/v2.1 and environments. Official source: Postman migration guide Verified: All pre-request and test scripts; monitors, mocks, flows, docs, and history do not import. Official source: Postman migration guide Verified: v2026.7.1 released 2026-09-01; default-branch commit checked 2026-09-16. Official source: Official release Verified: Local-first request work with broad auth import and no script dependency. Official source: Official documentation Git sync documentation Verified:
HTTPie Official source: Desktop product page CLI product page Verified: Yes — Desktop is public beta and works accountless; CLI is open source. Official source: Desktop product page Official product page Verified: CLI only confirmed Official source: CLI official repository CLI official LICENSE Verified: BSD-3-Clause for CLI; Desktop not confirmed Official source: CLI official repository CLI official LICENSE Verified: Not a hosted service — local Desktop/CLI; no documented self-hosted sync server. Official source: Desktop data storage Verified: Yes in Desktop — collections, environments, and data dumps. Official source: Desktop import reference Verified: Scripts, tests, dynamic tags, and unsupported request types must be rebuilt. Official source: Desktop import reference Verified: CLI 3.2.4 released 2024-11-01; CLI commit checked 2024-12-17. Official source: CLI official release Verified: Human-friendly desktop or terminal requests without Postman scripts. Official source: Desktop documentation CLI product page Verified:
Thunder Client Official source: Official pricing Getting started Verified: Yes — Free plan is $0, but Postman import is paid-only. Official source: Official pricing Verified: Not confirmed Official source: Official support repository Verified: Not confirmed Official source: Official support repository Verified: No documented server; collection data is stored locally. Official source: Official pricing FAQ Verified: Paid-only — Postman 2.1 collections and environments. Official source: Import and export Verified: Convert Postman scripts to tc APIs; rebuild unlisted platform assets. Official source: Postman script conversion Verified: v2.41.3 released 2026-09-13; support-repo commit checked 2026-06-04. Official source: Official release Verified: API requests and tests inside VS Code or JetBrains. Official source: Getting started Collection runner Verified:
Hurl Official source: Official manual Verified: Yes — open-source software; no paid plan documented. Official source: Official product page Official license Verified: Yes Official source: Official license Verified: Apache-2.0 Official source: Official license Verified: Not a hosted service — run the binary or official container on your infrastructure. Official source: Official product page Official installation Verified: No Postman importer documented. Official source: Official manual Official installation Verified: Rewrite requests, variables, scripts, and assertions into Hurl files. Official source: Official manual Entry format Verified: 8.0.1 released 2026-04-29; default-branch commit checked 2026-09-16. Official source: Official release Verified: Plain-text HTTP integration tests in local development and CI. Official source: Official manual Official FAQ Verified:
SoapUI Official source: Official repository Verified: Yes — SoapUI Open Source is free. Official source: Official repository Installation guide Verified: Yes Official source: Official LICENSE Verified: EUPL-1.1 Official source: Official LICENSE Verified: Local application/source build; mock services can run through mockservicerunner. Official source: Official repository REST mocking Verified: Only Postman Collection v1; v2 is unsupported. Official source: Postman collection documentation Verified: Rebuild unsupported tests and anything outside the documented v1 conversion rules. Official source: Postman collection documentation Verified: v5.10.0 released 2026-06-02; default-branch commit checked 2026-06-08. Official source: Official release Verified: REST/SOAP functional testing and mocks, especially with old v1 exports. Official source: REST testing documentation REST mocking Verified:

FAQ

Questions to settle before you migrate.

What is the best alternative to Postman?

There is no evidence-backed universal winner. Insomnia and Bruno deserve the first look when collections, environments, and script conversion matter; Hoppscotch is the clearest free self-hosted platform; Yaak is strong for local-first request data when scripts are not required.

Official source: Import and export reference Postman migration guide Community prerequisites Install and build Postman migration guide Verified:
Is there a free alternative to Postman?

Yes. Every option in this review has a documented free path, but the terms differ: some are open-source tools, Yaak's prebuilt binary is free for personal use, and Thunder Client keeps Postman import behind a paid plan.

Official source: Official pricing Official pricing Quick start Official pricing Workspace documentation Official pricing Desktop product page Official product page Official pricing Official product page Official license Official repository Installation guide Verified:
Which Postman alternatives are open source?

Insomnia, Hoppscotch Community Edition, Bruno, Yaak, HTTPie CLI, Hurl, and SoapUI have official open-source licenses. Thunder Client's product source license was not confirmed from its official public material.

Official source: Official LICENSE Quick start Official LICENSE Official LICENSE Official pricing Official LICENSE CLI official repository CLI official LICENSE Official support repository Official license Official LICENSE Verified:
Which Postman alternatives can be self-hosted?

Hoppscotch Community Edition is the full API platform here with an explicit self-hosting guide. Insomnia documents self-hosted mocks. Bruno, Yaak, HTTPie, Hurl, Thunder Client, and SoapUI run locally or in CI rather than offering a documented full collaboration server.

Official source: Insomnia versus Postman Mock server documentation Community prerequisites Install and build Getting started Workspace documentation Git sync documentation Security and privacy Desktop data storage Official pricing FAQ Official product page Official installation Official repository REST mocking Verified:
Can I import Postman collections?

Insomnia, Hoppscotch, Bruno, Yaak, HTTPie Desktop, and paid Thunder Client document Postman collection import. SoapUI supports only the old Postman v1 format. Hurl does not document a Postman importer.

Official source: Import and export reference Official importer reference Postman migration guide Postman migration guide Desktop import reference Import and export Official manual Official installation Postman collection documentation Verified:
Do Postman scripts migrate automatically?

Not reliably across tools. Insomnia and Bruno convert many scripts, Hoppscotch calls its script import experimental, Yaak and HTTPie do not import scripts, Thunder Client publishes tc API mappings for conversion, Hurl requires a rewrite, and SoapUI converts only a documented subset of old v1 tests.

Official source: Script migration reference Bulk migration guide Official importer reference Postman migration guide Postman migration guide Desktop import reference Postman script conversion Official manual Entry format Postman collection documentation Verified:
How much work is required to migrate from Postman?

It depends on the assets and scripts in the project. Yaak publishes vendor guidance for a collection and a team move; migration time for the other seven tools is not estimated here because neither official timing nor a Workrigly migration test was available.

Official source: Postman migration guide Official importer reference Postman migration guide Postman migration guide Desktop import reference Import and export Postman script conversion Official manual Postman collection documentation Verified: